data (#23) - How to convert x/y coordinate to lat/long cooordinate? (#182) - Message List

How to convert x/y coordinate to lat/long cooordinate?

Hi everybody.

I'm new to pgRouting. I have a project concerns to shorstest path. I use fridastreets with postgis and pgrouting. it work. But i work with desktop application( not web with WMS4W). And I want to convert x/y coordinate data of fridastreet to lat/long coordinate to display firda map with my Gis library(it only supports lat/long coordianate). Are there a formula or funtionce to do it?

I would appreciate your help.

Regards

• Message #632

Hi,

What is wrong with x/y coordinates? I'm not familiar with FRIDA data, but I think it is in one of standard projections. Can you please point me to any documentation of that data format or just tell me how x/y values look like?

One more thing - I'm going to delete the ticket you created, because it has nothing to do with pgRouting itself. For this case the forum post is enough.

Anton.

• Message #633

The x/y looks like X = 3434391.068,Y = 5794015.404 in fridastreets data table, I use mapinfo to show "strassen-joined.shp" file , and this x, y is equivalent with latitude:52o16’33.6’’ and longtitude: 8o2’16.8’’( is it right? in WSG84). I meaned how to convert X/Y to latitude/longtitude like this. Is there a formula or function to do it?

• Message #634

Hi,

It looks like normal meter-based projection. You can convert it to degree-based with transform() function of PostGIS, but for that you need to figure out your original projection EPSG code (I think it should be somewhere in the documentation). I tried to find it, but all information is in German.

• Message #635