data (#23) - Newbie questions (Navteq data) (#333) - Message List

Newbie questions (Navteq data)

Hi all

I'm new to all of this so please excuse any "stupid" questions.

Setup: Windows XP SP3 with postgresql 8.4.2 with postgis-pg84-1.4.1-1, pgRouting-1.03_pg-8.4.2 from binary Data: Navteq NAVSTREETS imported from shapefiles

I have a few things I'll be doing with our data but the primary task is to create a mapping from some foreign data links to ours. The links are described with a start and end point and a distance. So roughly speaking I'll find the nearest link to the start and end points and find the shortest path between them to figure out what links the link maps to. For the most part it will be only a few links (median appears to be .5 mile, max 10 miles on open roads, most hops I have seen is about 35).

So first, if you have any suggestions about which algorithm to use, please let me know, but I am currently thinking A* with a bounding box of the start/end points plus some buffer based on the distance expected. I am hoping any of them are a good fit for this, although obviously looking for the fastest.

Second, I followed the tutorials and tried the dijkstra algorithm (A* setup still running right now) and didn't get good results. Instead of a nice short route I expected I got a whole bunch of random links over a very wide area.