developer (#13) - DUBT PGROUTING (#363) - Message List

DUBT PGROUTING

Hi!!

I'm new in this world and I was interested to use pgRouting to work with it. But there's a bug on the web and I can't know what is the output of this library. Can someone please tell me what is the output if I use this program?

• Message #1508

Sorry, but this question is so unclear (not to say weired) that I doubt this is not some spam. Can you better explain what you want to know?

• Message #1511

yes!! I'm sorry if you don't have understood me!!

Firstly I want to know if the application pgRouting works in a "parallel way" with postgreSQL, or if it works "inside" postgreSQL (= if I have to put pgRouting folder inside postgreSQL folder).

Finally, I know that this library works with data of postgreSQL, and can calculate, for example, the shortest path between two points. The thing that I don't know is how is represented the solution (or where is stocked or saved). Is it in a new TABLE of postgreSQL, or is it in a txt file, ...

Do you understand me?

Thank you for all, and I am sorry about all this but I'm new in this world and I don't have a lot of computing knowledge!!

Thanks!!!! :)

• Message #1512

OK, now I understand.

pgRouting is an "extension" of PostgreSQL/PostGIS that adds new functions to solve shortest path search queries. It adds these functions in a similar way as PostGIS does.

You use SQL to find the shortest path and the result is a list of nodes or links (depends on which function or wrapper you use) you pass on your way. You can store it as a table if you like.

I recommend you to read through one of the workshops, because it will show you some not too difficult examples: WorkshopFOSS4G2008

• Message #1513

Thank you!! Now I can see the things more clear!! :)